How to remove persistent background image from Visual Studio code

Adama Camara
2 min readJul 11, 2021

--

Hi guys, so I was playing around with Visual Studio extensions and for some reason I wanted to add a custom background image. I search the marketplace and found this extension https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=shalldie.background. I was the one with the highest download count so I just installed it.

It was fun at first, but I started to think how my co-workers would react whenever I would share my screen. So I decided to uninstall the extension, thinking that the image would be gone, but it did not. I though I would need to uninstall my Visual Studio Code and install again, but I was able to find a fix. The method that I’m proposing will require you to have the extension installed on your VS code.

  1. Find Visual Studio settings:

If you are using Windows 10, the shortcut is “Ctrl +”. I don’t know for Mac, but you should be able to find it in: File>Preferences>Settings>Edit settings.json

2. Edit settings.json

Make sure the settings.json is the one for Users. When you open the settings.json, update the “background.enable” from true to false. VS code will ask you to reload, and the background image will no longer haunt you.

I hope this was helpful to you. Happy coding.

--

--

Adama Camara
0 Followers

Diagnosed with an addiction to building web and mobile apps.